Password: Log In:
Radio Control Zone » RC Car Action: Forums » General Vehicle Forums » RC Boat Forums » Racing Electric Boats » Help determening final drive specs for hydrofoil project

Notices

Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-03-2008, 12:02 AM

Help determening final drive specs for hydrofoil project

Hey there, im new to the whole RC-Boat thing and ive taken on the task of building a boat from the ground up and im looking for some advice.

I am currently trying to figure out what i can expect from the drive system i have designd for my 26" hydrofoil, basswood structured boat, with fiberglass hull.

I plan to use:
2 X speed 8.4v 10amp 67watt 26K rpm (no load) and 19k rpm (w/ load)
each driving its own propeller

i have picked out some good U-Joints but im afraid they may still be to weak at high rpm. do you think i should use flex joint couplings instead?

also what size propeller should I use for this setup, and and should I use gears to increase the RPM's. I am currently planning on an almost 2:1 gear ration to step the rpm without load to 50k and a 45-55mm propeller. I have no idea what I should really use tho having no experience.
Sponsored Links

Old 09-07-2008, 08:37 PM

Cool

A boat that size will not even plane with the two tiny, low-powered motors you mentioned. Overdriving the props with a gear box will make the boat slower than direct drive.

We need to know more about your boat, a photo or two would be great.
- Why do you want to use two motors?
- How many volts do you plan to use?
- What speed are you looking for?
- What radio will you be using?
- How much do you want to spend?

We need at least this much information to be of any help. That is probably why no one has answered your post, until now.

Old 09-10-2008, 11:33 PM

well first off, money isn't much of a problem. i think il set like a $1000-$1500 cap for all drive components including things like speed controls batteries and all that